they're coming after you

MTT players are batshit crazy masochistic freaks

I have to say that it’s days like this where playing MTTs really sucks. I played tourneys for 10 hours, stone bubbled a 55 FO final table, still lost $100, and I still have to do minimum 2 hours of website work. I usually love my life but I don’t today!

The day started bad and pretty much stayed that way. I’m sure I would change my mind about the day if I had made the final table of the $40k, but since I didn’t, I can keep my opinion that today was awful.

Not playing well and running badly is a good formula for losing money. I made a few bad calls and a few pushes that I would love to take back. One of those pushes was post flop when I was trying to rep something that made no sense. The other couple that I regret were both 3bet pushes preflop with AQ.

The worst part about today wasn’t the beats but my reaction to the beats. I spent the first few hours trying not to react to the first onslaught of bad beats, but as they continued, I couldn’t control myself anymore and I started getting pretty annoyed.

My bad beat tilt serves more of a distraction than anything. Whether I dwell on them for a few seconds or waste a minute writing an annoyed note about the idiot that 3-outed me, I waste time thinking about it. I can’t remember a time when I directly punted chips because I was on tilt, but I’m sure the distraction of feeling tilted has affected my playing to some degree in the past. I usually don’t stay annoyed for five minutes, but I that’s five minutes too long in my opinion.

I just can’t understand why I can’t get over it. This is how it goes. Sometimes you get 2 outered a bunch of times in a row to go from chip leader to out on the bubble. That’s just how it is. I wish I could get over it and stop getting annoyed. Usually I’m fine for the first few hours of a session but if things don’t improve (which they usually don’t with MTTs), then I just get pissed off during hours 4-8.

I suppose that as I keep playing, I will get desensitized. I hope I’m right. Maybe it’s like getting used to losing money everyday… you have to get used to getting bad beat and losing flips everyday, especially when playing MTTs.

I had a whole bunch of other stuff to write about but I’ve just wasted this entire post talking about bad beats. How stupid.

Leave a comment